First look at: Salt to the Sea

First look at: Salt to the Sea

in Cover Reveals

19Jul
4913

Some covers are.. hopeful!

…And just look at this beauty here! (hover to unveil the cover):

this-shattered-wolrd-cover-reveal

Preorder: Amazon (US) | BookDepository (INT)

About the book:

The author of Between Shades of Gray returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war’s most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

“In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.
Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr’s Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson’s critically acclaimed #1 New York Times bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein’s Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff–the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Expected publication: February 9th 2016 by Philomel Books

Well.. this is not actually a first look, as the cover has been released a while ago, but I felt the need to share it with you all, because I am extremely excited for this book and time can’t pass quick enough for me to read it!

Ruta is one of my favourite authors, her writing is raw and powerful and simply beautiful. I loved her previous books (“Between shades of Gray” being my favourite) and I simply can’t wait to get my hands on this one!

Let’s get our hearts broken! 😉

« »

LEAVE A COMMENT